My Self-Imposed Impossible Deadlines

Clean the bathroom. Make a decent dinner. Go to your day job. Exercise. Make sure your son’s doing his homework. Make you’re your daughter’s sending in her scholarship application. Practice your songs for the band’s gig in February. Walk the dog. Pay the bills. Find some time to finish that book you’re supposed to read for book club next week. Sleep. Vacuum the upstairs because there’s a 2-inch thick layer of dust and dog hair everywhere!

I’ll bet your day sounds something like this too. It doesn’t matter if you have kids or not, or if you work in an office or work at home. Everyone’s busy. Everyone has a million things to do and not enough hours in the day to do it. I always wish I had more hours in the day. There is so, so much to do.

I love creating. It’s fun and it’s therapeutic. I need it like I need food to survive. Occasionally, I start to get a little anxious because I feel like I’m running out of time, and not making enough inventory. Then, my fears get the best of me, and then I fall into this funk, where I’m crabby because I don’t have enough time to do all the things I want to do.

I’m going to try something different today. Instead of looking at my list of things to do and thinking, ohmygawdI’mfreakingoutthere’snowayicandothis!

I’m going to say: “You know what? Do what you can. You won’t be able to do it all today, and that’s FINE. You have enough inventory today.” Do the most important thing first. Stay in the present. The dust will be there tomorrow, and it’s not hurting anyone. You’re a crafter, an artist. Not a machine. Not a manufacturer. That’s what makes your work different from what you see at Target. It’s all good. Chill.

walter

The truth of the matter is I don’t just do one thing. Most of us don’t. We juggle many commitments and many responsibilities. It’s simply a fact of life, and I would add that in most ways, it’s what makes our lives so full and glorious. So…I am not going to freak if my inventory isn’t where I’d like it. It’s enough for today.

Here are a few things I was able to finish last week: A Super Cat Hat (part of the Pussy Hat Project) for a friend who’s going to the Chicago version of the Womens’ March on January 21st, and a new knitted belt…for those who are a little more masculine (if masculine people appreciate knitted belts, and why shouldn’t they??).

pussycat-hat

The Pussy Cat Hat for the Women’s March in Chicago on Inauguration Day.

man-belt

In Progress: Knitted belt for anyone who likes knitted belts!

Leave a Reply

