Control What You Can, Let the Rest Go!

Next week, I’m having my first craft show of the year. It will be at the Promontory in Hyde Park, Sunday, March 5th, from noon to 4 pm. This week, I’m struggling with how to fit my wares into a 6’x5’ space. My clothing rack is a 4’ wide circle, which leaves 2’ width and 1’ depth left for a card table…and me. Therein lies the challenge.

I have six days to figure it out.

You know what I don’t like? Loose ends. I hate them. Right now, my daughter is choosing between two colleges. We don’t know which one she’ll choose because we don’t know how much money she’ll get from one of them. My son is choosing between two high schools. We won’t know which he’ll choose until he visits both, and only then will we be able to register him and get that out of the way. The high school decision won’t be much longer, but the college decision could take another month, or more. It’s hard for me to move forward when these issues, which are rather important, are resolved!

I like to have everything in its little place. I like my life to be organized, and tidy. I like to manage all the little aspects of my life, like the housecleaning, the taxes, the job, the kids’ schedules (well, my son’s schedule, not so much my daughter’s). But as time goes on, and as the kids grow up, it’s impossible to have that expectation. Again, it’s about control. I have to let that go because I’m just causing myself unnecessary angst.

So here’s one thing I can control: How do I fit all of my handmade stuff—and me—into a 6’x5’ space?

Come to the Hyde Park Handmade Artisan Bazaar next Sunday, and you’ll find out!

Handknit belt with ceramic beads. See this and so much more at the Hyde Park Handmade Artisans Bazaar on March 12!

Handknit belt with ceramic beads. See this and so much more at the Hyde Park Handmade Artisans Bazaar on March 12! Get a preview at my etsy shop: LSSLusciousKnits!

Leave a Reply

