Mother’s Day Weekend

This weekend I dove headfirst into my old walking routine. My legs are screaming right now, but I’ve been meaning to check out the North Branch Trail starting at Forest Glen Woods, so I woke up at 5:30 to do just that. The trail was sort of…meh. It was okay. I did see some deer and a gigantic raccoon though. Because of all the rain we’ve had lately, the woods were very…marshy. Some of the water came right up to the bike trail. I was able to walk from Forest Glen Woods up to the end of Lechowicz Woods, and then I felt like I had to turn around and go back. Next time I’ll start at Caldwell Woods, or maybe just venture farther north into Glencoe. Maybe the trail’s a little more interesting up there.

See the pretty deer?

I’m attempting to sew a garment – a caftan top, and a tote bag. Just doing tests at the moment, but we’ll see if this is something I can do on a regular basis. I think I can. Once I’ve mastered those items (caftan – a maybe), I can add these to my repertoire of sewn items for ice dyeing.

I’m starting to knit like crazy too. Doing lots of cotton hats, but soon I’ll be adding wool items for the Fall. I’m looking into art/craft shows to apply for beginning in August. I want to get my stuff out there. I’m considering a show in Indiana or Michigan. Or both. New territory for me. It’s a part of a personal goal of getting myself out there more often, but I have to be careful. Sometimes (well, all the time) I bite off more than I can chew. And doing one craft show a month, while at first sounds totally possible, ends up sounding like a nightmare. So I’m going to have to think very carefully about this. Acknowledge my limits.

After I came home from visiting my mom, I did some weeding in the garden, and then I finished this hat. Now, I’m very, very tired, and I want to take a nap. It’s Mother’s Day. I think I’ve earned it.

Enjoy this beautiful day!

North branch of the Chicago River in Forest Glen Woods. Moving fast.

When the water rises…near the Bieszczat Volunteer Center on the North Branch Trail of Lechowicz Woods.

 

Leave a Reply

