Knitting and Sewing

I’ve started knitting in earnest now. Still using cotton yarn for several light slouchy caps, but I’ve been trying out a lot of new stitch patterns for more airy, stretchy, open work. I love the veil stitch. I always have. It’ so beautifully simple; makes such elegant fabric and it looks very different depending on what kind of yarn you use. But the result is always a soft, flowy fabric. The only issue with the veil stitch is that it uses more yarn than other types of stitches because there are two “wraparounds” in the stitch, which is twice as much as a normal knit stitch. This hat below, took about 1.5 balls of yarn, whereas the hat with eyelets (right) only takes one.

Veil stitch using worsted weight cotton yarn. Looks like stockinette, but is more stretchy, airy and drapes nicely.

Worsted weight cotton yarn, in a simple eyelet pattern.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve had a lot of success with the vertical lace trellis stitch, which is shown in these hats below. But I’m going to stick with the eyelets this time. We’ll see how the end result looks.

Examples of vertical lace trellis in cotton yarn, a very easy stitch that gives a nice airy look to fabrics.

 

My first caftan using cotton muslin. Still need to finish the neckline, but will be ready for dyeing. Perfect for that special someone with…a really short torso.

Also last week, I made my first garment using cotton muslin, a lightweight fabric which is typically used for test garments. I think my caftan top came out okay, but I need to find a better way to deal with the neckline.

I also experimented with other types of cotton fabric. Up until now, I’ve been using lightweight duck fabric (100% cotton canvas) for my home decor, but fabrics like cotton lawn and cotton voile are lighter, more “drapey,” which is great for garments, scarves, and other wearable stuff. The only caveat is that voile and lawn are more delicate and need to be washed differently in order to retain their beauty and longevity. But then again…how often does one need to wash a scarf? And if it’s only once in a while, why wouldn’t someone take the time to hand wash it?

I like cotton lawn because it’s pretty, lightweight and drapey, but can still be machine-washed (in delicate cycle, with delicate detergent).

Left: I don’t even know how I burned my forearm. But that mark is here to stay. Right: just happened yesterday. 😦

So you can expect to see some ice-dyed scarves in LSSLuscious Knit’s future. However, I must add that in order to sew all these napkins and scarves and such, I have to do a lot of ironing – and either I’m a clutz or I’m doing something wrong, but I keep burning myself! So buy my stuff because I literally put blood, sweat, and tears into my work!

 

Leave a Reply

