How to Place a Custom Order with Confidence!

PART I – ICE DYED ORDERS
Yes, yes, yes custom online orders can be frightening, but not if you do your research!

There’s really nothing more heartbreaking than going through all the trouble of explaining what you want, and then after weeks of waiting, and money spent, you receive your custom item only to find that it doesn’t fit or isn’t the right color, or you just don’t like it. It can be equally discouraging for the seller too – especially the hand-crafter because she put her heart and soul into the work.

And that’s why both parties need to do their research! As a buyer, look for reviews, or testimonials for the shop. And a conscientious seller gets as much information as possible. That’s what I do.

When someone wants something in particular from me – I get all excited and do the happy dance! Make sure you look through all the listings in the shop, in order to get a clearer sense of what I sell, and what you want!

Let’s say you are looking at the lovely napkins listed in my shop, but you want to take it a step further…and get a matching tablecloth (hey I’m working on a custom-ordered tablecloth with matching napkins right now!). First things first…

If you want something custom made,
it’s going to take more time. 

Obviously – It could be handmade, or it could be something that needs to be special ordered…like that size XS halter top (by the way, does ANYONE know where I can get 100% cotton size XS halter tops? Yeah, me neither).

You might want specific colors that I don’t currently have in stock, so those need to be special ordered. Usually, the ETA of a supply order takes about 8 days. Then, of course, there’s the actual “making” time. Keep in mind that an ice-dyed t-shirt will not take as long as a handsewn, ice-dyed hobo bag.

Most importantly, I want you to be thrilled with your purchase.

So that’s why I keep the lines of communication open throughout the process. If you ask me for a size M halter top that needs to be special ordered, I’ll let you know that it will take an additional week for entire order. I’ll also want to do tests, to make sure the colors are the way you want them.

I’ll want to give you a fairly accurate timeline up front for custom orders. For things like ice-dyed tops, headbands, and napkins, the timeline can be about two weeks. If I have supplies in stock, maybe 1 week. For bigger projects, like ice-dyed tablecloths, tapestries, or larger garments, it may take longer depending on the complexity of the project.

What about the price?

Every artist is different. Part of my mission with LSS Luscious Knits is to keep things reasonably affordable. For my custom ice-dyed orders, if they’re basically the same as what I sell in my shop – such as an ice-dyed t-shirt, or a set of napkins, I customize at the same price. The only time the price goes up is if the quantity of the project (such as the number of napkins ordered) increases.

By the way, when it comes to napkins – I do have a special! There’s the flat price of $25 for four (4) seamed napkins. But if you order 8, then there’s a little discount. Order 12, a slightly bigger discount. Order 16 or 20, the discount gets bigger, and so on!

One of several custom orders in the making; one week for ordering the needed colors the clients requested, and another week of testing to make sure they’ll like what they see!

I hope I’ve taken some of the guesswork out of ice dyed custom orders for you. Custom orders can be loads of fun! Next Sunday, I’ll talk about custom ordering handknit items, which are just a tiny bit more complicated…

Leave a Reply

